Taking a look back…

It’s hard to believe that the last time I was in China on my own was in November 2007! The above is what greeted me in Hong Kong when I checked in to the Excelsior Hotel in beautiful Causeway Bay.

That was my favourite place to stay, and I had been there every year from 2004. I just liked the location, and obviously was becoming a regular by then.

Why Hong Kong? Victoria Harbour is just a stunning place to be, as these pictures show:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I just loved the Star Ferry. Where else in the world can you get such a stunning view for just a quarter?

Another city I love to see is Taipei, and a really good place to stay is Les Suites Ching Cheng. It’s a boutique hotel and relatively hard to find, but it’s amazing inside!

Hong Kong is very easy to travel around, whether by land or sea. Taipei is landbound, but walking around is excellent, and anyone who loves motorcycling will find lots of company there. There is plenty of opportunity for hiking in the hillsides south of the city, which are quite accessible by the Maokong Gondola.

It was always fascinating to see how close the countryside could be to such a bustling city:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Taiwanese are such avid hikers that the trail maps that were posted in the hills all had GPS coordinates marked on them! That is an innovation that I still have not heard of being introduced here, but it would really be helpful.

There were other destinations as well on this trip, such as Shenzhen, Macao, Vancouver and Whistler. It was the first time I had taken three weeks’ straight for a vacation, and it was very much needed at that time.

Is it time to return to what I still feel is one of the most beautiful parts of the world? Let’s see what the future brings…

Leave a Reply

